Criticism never kills

(Written for Daily Prompt – Tell us about the harshest, most difficult to hear — but accurate — criticism you’e ever gotten. Does it still apply?)

 p20121127-095213“Writer? You want to be a writer? Where has that sprung from? Can you even write?”, Dad asked me incredulously.

This was a question, yes, but it stung me as though judgement had been thrown in to my face. But then again, I knew better than getting miffed with Dad. I had not shared a word of what I wrote with my parents, or anyone else for that matter. So obviously, I couldn’t expect a better reaction when I told my parents that I wanted to be a writer – a copywriter specifically.

Mom gave me a look which said “There goes my daughter with one of her harebrained ideas which she won’t see through till the end…again!” She suggested I get a regular job (in line with the masters degree in marketing I possessed) and then write as a by-the-way thing. I stood my ground.

I wanted to be a full-time writer.

But then, my parents’ reaction forced me to question my career decision again. Did I have it me to be a writer? Would I stick with this choice? Did I really possess the kind of imagination that might interest people in reading my writing? Luckily for me, the strangling question of will I earn enough? never occurred to me. I sought creative satisfaction over material comfort. I’d rather be happy with my limited amount of money than be rushing through a round-the-clock job that leaves me with no mental peace.

That was the last time, however, that I questioned my choice. And thankfully, neither did my parents.

Today, I’m glad I took that step and listened to my heart. I’m glad I made friends with words. I’m glad I’m doing fairly decently in my chosen field.

And it feels so nice when I see Dad sharing a piece written by me on Facebook 🙂

17 thoughts on “Criticism never kills

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sad But True | The Story of a Guy

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sad but True | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: You’re like a cat – you only call when you want something | Feel & Rebuild Your Self Confidence

  4. “I’d rather be happy with my limited amount of money than be rushing through a round-the-clock job that leaves me with no mental peace.” – Amen to that! Good for you for following your passion.

    • I go to bed so much happier, knowing I’ve spent a day doing what I love. Hope there are more of us who feel the same.
      Thanks Diane.

  5. Pingback: Life is Harsh | Kansa Muse

  6. Pingback: MY NARCISSISM | hastywords

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sad But True – Criticism | Anniemation Floe

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Processing the life

  9. Pingback: From the mouths of babes | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  10. Pingback: Regarding Those Friends Who See Through You to Something Better: | Rob's Surf Report

  11. Pingback: Harsh |

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Harsh – Poem / Poetry – “The Survey” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

What say?

