The Corner Guy

(Written for #FWF Free Write Friday)

walmart-man

I am John. Also known as ‘The corner guy’.

If you’ve been here long enough, you know who I am.

And if you don’t know me, let me clarify that I am not in-sane. I am in-love.

I still remember that day, 21 autumns back, when my dear Jenny turned around this very corner and never came back. I yelled after her despite my sore throat,

“I’ll wait for you forever”.

I’m still here as promised, but she never came back. There hasn’t been a day when I haven’t sat on this very piece of concrete waiting for her. My apartment window sits facing me grimly, but I have no intention of going back home, lest she comes back looking for me and I miss seeing her.

I regret giving her no choice other than leaving me. I was a broken man then. I am a shattered man now. With every breath I try to piece together my heart which broke into a million pieces, with the hope that when she sees me again, I shall be whole.

Maybe they’ll write a book about me someday. Maybe they’ll make a movie. Maybe they laugh at me for being the weird guy who writes and sings love songs on his guitar. Maybe they think I am an epitome of true love.

There are a lot of maybes. But just one you.  

Jen darling, if you are out there, you know where to find me. Just around our favourite corner.

Let’s give love another chance.

.

15 thoughts on “The Corner Guy

  1. Wow, so powerful is love! I think this was beautifully done. It’s so interesting to see what emotions one photo can invoke in different people. “There are a lot of maybes. But just one you.” man, that is so awesome, thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. I absolutely loved reading this FWF, the verse was a great introduction to your narrative. I loved the relationship (or lack of it), fabulous descriptions. This free write absorbed me totally!

  3. I must admit, the lost love and the “wait for ever” made me cry. A good cry, because your words moved me. I hope they write a book and make a movie about the man who never gave up. The song “If it takes forever, I will wait for you.” is running through my mind — based on your writing and having seen the Umbrellas of Cherbourg recently.

What say?

