Life on the Ebb

(Written for #FWF: Free Write Friday)

birds-in-field

Photo credit – Tumblr

Situation: It’s high noon. Sun blazing. You awake in a field and birds are pecking your skin… GO!

Prick prick prick. Peck peck peck.

I squint in the afternoon blaze. The birds relentlessly stick their beaks into my wasted body.

Hah!, I think sarcastically, do I even have enough left in me to feed you?

Happiness lasted till two week ago, before the mad guy with the wispy hair and stinking white coat decided to subject me to this torture. In one of his fanciful mood swings, he decided to test my resilience against attacking foreign beings.

Though I never understood how that would help his research in discovering the first ever bulletproof vest and startle the world with his invention.

But hey, I’m no scientist. I’m just a rat. But not your ever day grubby rat, mind you. I was born in a lab.

I was fed well and taken care of. My grey coat shone as silver and my bright eyes twinkled like diamonds. The only grouse I had with my upbringing was the daily exposure to those blinding red rays which made me itch for a good hour or two. But it was all for the high purpose that my life had to serve.

I should have known that life is not a comfortable bed of fresh bread. However irrational it sounded to my ears – I was reared to meet a painful, agonizing and humiliating death at the hands (beaks) of this brainless flying duds.

I lie here, helplessly waiting for the last drop of blood to be sucked out, the last piece of skin to be torn and the last heartbeat to be heard. Don’t be fooled my friends, you never know who is using you for what purpose.

Prick prick prick. Peck peck peck.

19 thoughts on “Life on the Ebb

  1. Great take on the prompt! You’re a rat!!! Love that idea! Clever and fun. Thank you so much. You are a great writer and I am so happy to have you joining us. Hope you will write with us again soon for FWF. xox

  2. Congrats on your first FWF entry! How wonderfully graphic this was and who would’ve thought that the subject would be a rat with a moral – I absolutely love this brilliant piece – thanks!! 🙂

  3. Pingback: #FWF Free Write Friday #26: Time and Place Scenario | catnipoflife

What say?

